It’s been a while since I’ve taken time to write here. Even my other journals have been neglected – well, other than the wedding planning one. 😆 That’s one blog that I’ve been having fun updating. Being engaged for almost a month has been a lot of fun.

If you haven’t been following that blog, we’ve finalized our date and venue and the wedding party. I’m starting to update the blog with photos of our wedding party, and have ideas already for other things.

It’s been interesting reading different wedding blogs, discussion boards and other wedding-themed sites. The more I read, the more fortunate I feel. I have a great relationship with my mom and future mother-in-law (FMIL), my family and Steve’s family are very happy and supportive of us, and our friends (both local and in other places) are happy and supportive too. There are so may people who write and talk about the drama that comes up with a wedding – not liking dresses, parents not liking their child’s partner, friends getting bitchy about being in a wedding party… it amazes me the issues that come up. I really feel lucky to have the great friends and family I do, and to not have any (so far) issues coming up between friends or family or whatever. And Steve’s looking forward to our day big time. 🙂

And that’s a key thing – it’s OUR day.

But add to life my new job. I’ve finished my third week, and I’m really enjoying myself. It’s been a good introduction so far – a few great projects to work on, a lot of new people to meet and lots that I’ve been learning. The interesting thing is being a non-alumni person working at this university. It amazes me how many people I’ve met so far are very connected to the campus and school and faculty. I look at my relationship with my previous schools – Laurier I don’t feel very connected to, but I’m still in touch with my instructors from Humber and Loyalist. It’s going to be interesting to see what my relationship is like with the Mount when I finish my masters. 🙂 With Laurier, I went to university and spent most of my time there not knowing what I wanted to be doing or learning, or what I wanted to do when I was finished, and I don’t know if the university would have been able to have a good relationship with me.

But I digress. 🙂 It’s been a good three weeks – working on a calendar, working closely with the graphics staff, holding down the fort while my boss was on vacation. It was all good!

And my coursework is going fairly well – it’s been hard to find a balance between work, coursework and fun stuff. I’m learning a lot, though, and I think I’m slowly getting my brain rewired to think theoretically while still having to be a practical thinker at work.

All in all, I don’t really have a lot to complain about! 😀

How are you? It’s been a while!

